Graduate Nurse positions and other stuff...

o'connors

Hello all,

I'm currently studying for a DipHE Adult Nursing qualifying (fingers crossed!!) in 2010, emigrating under my hubby as a gas fitter or plumber and hope to go as soon as I'm qualified I've read something about needing 12months experience to get a job in Oz and I'd need to apply for a Graduate position as a newbie, what is this? Is there a few Graduate jobs out there...??

Also, if I'm not applying under me do I still need to get my skills assessed ? Is it better to do this in Oz or from here so that I can start working straight away.

Going under 175 permanent residency....

Questions, questions!

Hope someone can help.

Thanks

The O'Connors

Guest gibbboe
Hello all,

I'm currently studying for a DipHE Adult Nursing qualifying (fingers crossed!!) in 2010, emigrating under my hubby as a gas fitter or plumber and hope to go as soon as I'm qualified I've read something about needing 12months experience to get a job in Oz and I'd need to apply for a Graduate position as a newbie, what is this? Is there a few Graduate jobs out there...??

Also, if I'm not applying under me do I still need to get my skills assessed ? Is it better to do this in Oz or from here so that I can start working straight away.

Questions, questions!

Hiya

I know a tiny bit about this but I am sure other nurse will fill in the gaps.....I am also a student nurse due to graduate in 2009. I have an informal offer for a new grad nurse scheme. I got this by contacting health boards and having a couple of interviews. However, they do not tend to make formal offers till you have qualified and passed your skills assessement. This is more straightforward than it sounds...Just get your nursing pin (when qualified) and arrange with NMC for details to be forwarded to whichever Oz nursing board you will be nursing with. The skills assessment for you, just means your uni will need to send the transcripts of your course to the Oz nursing board.