House valuations

hope2

I am a complete house seller virgin and just had 2 estate agents round and there's a huge difference in the valuations! There's 50k difference between them :goofy: Is this normal or is one or the other on a different planet?????????

Third EA just about to come round so see what they say..........

I am a complete house seller virgin and just had 2 estate agents round and there's a huge difference in the valuations! There's 50k difference between them :goofy: Is this normal or is one or the other on a different planet?????????

Third EA just about to come round so see what they say..........

I'm a mortgage broker and I have to say that a £50K difference is a hell of a lot.

Try going on here Hometrack | The UK's Leading Housing Intelligence Business and put your postcode in on the right hand side where it says value your property (it's free) and it will bring up a list of all the properties sold in and around your area.

This is the site that most conveyansers use and is also the site that is used by many lenders for AVM's (Automated valuation models)

Howard :)

Hi hope 2 ....as i write this we are waiting for ea to come round to value ours .....we kinda know in our own minds what the houses in our area are worth and what people are willing to pay for them .....will try and post later and let you know if ea valuation is similar !!!! ...thats if i have any energy left lol

mrs keily

Guest mandisfam

Hi there, hmmmm 50k is a big difference. We had 2 EA's come and value our house last week. The 1st one valued it at the exact price we thought, the 2nd was 5k less. Although, he was very sure that we were wanting to sell for financial reasons ie we were struggling to pay the mortage, even though we told him this wasn't the case. It was very clear he didn't believe us.

We never told either EA that we were selling due to moving to oz. Might start another thread on this point.

Good luck with EA and do let us know how you get on.

Mandisfam