Sponsorship to teach in NSW on 482

g_CS_teacher

Hi all,

After some advice.

I am a secondary school teacher of 7 years in the UK teaching Computer Science. I have recently been offered a job teaching at an independent school in NSW. They have offered to sponsor me.

My route into teaching was a School Direct (SCITT) route, not a PGCE. It is equal to the PGCE in the UK, yet NESA have only granted me Conditional Accreditation as they do not recognise this qualification. They have still suggested that if I am sponsored, I can still teach for 6 years in NSW without further training.

Two questions:

1. Will I need an AITSL skills test to apply and be accepted for Visa 482 pathway, considering only being granted Conditional Accreditation?

2. How likely will I be accepted onto AITSL skills test with my qualification? I did not receive a transcript, yet the university did write and sign a letter confirming the below:

This was a salaried, school-based route. The course is run by a partnership between a lead school, other schools and an accredited teacher training provider (in this case, #university name#).

#name# teaching practice was supervised by a member of the University's Faculty of Education and onsite mentor teachers.

#name# completed the required 120 days on placement in supervised teaching practice, teaching pupils in Primary and Secondary school settings at the following schools:…

Any experiences or insight would be hugely helpful!

Thank you 😄

There seems to be more teachers looking to make the move!