Career change

Hi everyone,

Just wondering if anyone has went over and had a complete career change? I’m a gas engineer here in the UK but it’s boring me to tears, I would love to arrive in Adelaide and be able to start a new career path. I could continue working in my industry but from what I’ve heard, it can be costly to retrain and would include going to college night classes and I’m not up for doing that. 

You've got to get your visa in your existing occupation first.    If you can get a 189 or a 190 visa, then once you've got your visa, you can do any job you damn well please. There's no obligation to keep working in your current job.

Obviously you could take any unskilled job, or start up in business doing something else. However if you want to do another trade then obviously you'll have to retrain, just like you would in the UK.  

4 minutes ago, Marisawright said:

You've got to get your visa in your existing occupation first.    If you can get a 189 or a 190 visa, then once you've got your visa, you can do any job you damn well please. There's no obligation to keep working in your current job.

Obviously you could take any unskilled job, or start up in business doing something else. However if you want to do another trade then obviously you'll have to retrain, just like you would in the UK.  

I’ve applied for a 491 visa under my skill recently. I’d say I’m looking to get out of the trades altogether, start something fresh. 

51 minutes ago, Brianm93 said:

I’ve applied for a 491 visa under my skill recently. I’d say I’m looking to get out of the trades altogether, start something fresh.