Increasing UK mortgage to fund move

duckec01

Has anyone who is renting their uk home thought about increasing their mortgage in order to use the money to set up in Oz.

I am thinking this may be a good idea for two reasons, firstly, because I am not selling and have no savings left, I need some money and as far as I am aware it is much cheaper to borrow in the UK at the moment. Secondly because you can offset the interest paid against the tax you have to pay on the property.

It seems like a no-brainer to me but then I am not an expert.

Any experience of or view on this?

Yep, we were going to do this but we have just sold the house so don't need to now. if you have enough equity you should be able to do it, morgage lenders are looking for more than a 25% deposit, so I have been told.

• 3 weeks later...
Guest AnnieE

This is exactly what we have done. We have have now got a large interest only mortgage on our UK house and have put the £ in high interest savings accounts until the exchange rates improve and then we will move it out to Aus to buy a place. After talking to lots of mortgage lenders we decided to do this before we left the UK because they said although we would be able to do it from Aus we would have fewer lenders to choose from. We are lucky that at the moment the interest we are getting from the savings is higher than the interest we are paying on the mortgage.

This is exactly what we have done. We have have now got a large interest only mortgage on our UK house and have put the £ in high interest savings accounts until the exchange rates improve and then we will move it out to Aus to buy a place. After talking to lots of mortgage lenders we decided to do this before we left the UK because they said although we would be able to do it from Aus we would have fewer lenders to choose from. We are lucky that at the moment the interest we are getting from the savings is higher than the interest we are paying on the mortgage.