Nursing in Australia

Lou Gates

I am a qualified nurse nurse working in the uk. I worked in Australia Perth as a registered nurse in 2010 on a holiday visa. I have continued to pay for my Australian registration every year just in case one day we decided to immigrate. 10 years later we have decided that we want a future in Australia. I just want to see if anyone know for sure if my hours I practise in the uk keep my registration valid in Australia I have contacted aphra but they take a long time to get in touch. I’ve tried searching the internet can’t seem to get a definite answer.

also what is the difference between skills assessment and modified skills assessment 

look forward to your responses 

Thanking  you in advance 

4 hours ago, Lou Gates said:

I am a qualified nurse nurse working in the uk. I worked in Australia Perth as a registered nurse in 2010 on a holiday visa. I have continued to pay for my Australian registration every year just in case one day we decided to immigrate. 10 years later we have decided that we want a future in Australia. I just want to see if anyone know for sure if my hours I practise in the uk keep my registration valid in Australia I have contacted aphra but they take a long time to get in touch. I’ve tried searching the internet can’t seem to get a definite answer.

also what is the difference between skills assessment and modified skills assessment 

Thanking  you in advance 

Hi Lou Gates,

I'm not exactly sure what you are asking here.

You say you have paid to maintain your AHPRA registration for the past ten years, so, if you are answering all the criteria at EACH yearly renewal period accurately and honestly, and your payment is accepted, then you remain a AHPRA Registered Nurse, permitted to practice in Australia.

It's easy to check yourself. The register is open to the general public, just enter your name etc in the search facility on AHPRA website and that will confirm if you remain registered in Australia.