Gas engineer looking for advice

Bartin

Hello all, 

I’m a Gas Engineer from London and I’m looking to move to Sydney with my Aussie girlfriend next year. 

I really need some practical support on how to start looking for jobs and just understanding how my skills and qualifications are going to transfer here.

Will I be able to get a job? Will I have to re train? 
Is anyone else an ex British Gas employee that can offer support?

thank you in advance!

I’d suggest looking at the type of job you want to do and see what certifications are required. The qualifications you have in the U.K. (eg GasSafe or apprentice trained plumber) may not directly translate to something like the Cert III GasFitter or a Plumber in NSW, so it is likely you would have to go to TAFE (think Trade college) in order to become certified. You should be able to get recognition for prior relevant learning and qualifications but the extent of this and therefore what remains to be done via a TAFE course or supervised working would be dependent on how well you can articulate/demonstrate this.

• Thanks 1

35 minutes ago, Bartin said:

Hey Skani, 

I could get a partner visa if need be. Just worried about my work prospects! Do you have any ideas?

What do you  mean, "if need be"?  You need some kind of visa before you can enter Australia to work. 

There's no point in looking for work until you've got the visa.  Then you can come to Australia and look for a job when you arrive.

There are employer-sponsored visas, but they are only to fill short-term vacancies and you go home at the end.