Which visa is the best to apply for given we currently have 70 points??

Hazey3874

Hi everyone,

We have recently began the visa application process, and understood 70 points was likely to get you an invite for a 189 or we could gain additional points for 190 Visa. Having seen the latest round where no invites were given for anyone under 75, we are worried that application for either visa would be pointless. We have 3 children, my wife is a secondary school teacher and I am an experienced social worker. I am 45 in August, therefore my wife would be the main a applicant, she is 39 in September. 

We are aware of other options but obviously prefer permenant residency, status to provide stability for our children, though not sure what the likelyhood of this will be given the current climate and our circumstances.

Any words of advice would be appreciated, as currently feeling a bit crushed.

Thanks in advance 

Jack

Hi Jack

I started the process for a 190visa last September so can help a little.

I don't think that you would be able to get a visa in time for you as the main applicant as you turn 45 soon.

I am 36 so your wife would fall into the same age category which is 33 - 39, after that you fall into the next bracket and lose 10points I think.

I was trying for a 189visa but just missed out on the top points for the English test twice, so I decided to go down the 190 route with 60points then the 5 points from state nomination.

If you have a state in mind and they are sponsoring secondary school teachers then the 190visa may be the best route for you.

There is a fair bit that you have to do to so would need to get cracking with things.

There are migration agents on this forum who can help you, I used one to get an assessment done just to make sure that I could apply for a visa and what I thought was correct.

Since that I have done things on my own.

Mark