Tax when leaving

paulswin

So we're hopefully moving back in September but not sure what to do about my tax I'm employed and was going to do my end of year return now but am working up until we leave so anyone know if I can go in H & R block and file the end of year and sort out July, Aug and Sept tax that I will have paid or will I have to file one next year when I'm back in UK  

I’m no expert but I think you have to do one next year. Presumably so that should you come back or have other Australian income to declare you aren’t filing multiple returns every time you think you are gone for good! Uniformity for the ATO.

Others will be able to confirm but that’s my understanding.

• Like 1

11 minutes ago, paulswin said:

That's what I thought Amber but was hoping I'd be able to get it all done rather than 9 months later filling another end of year tax form Grrrrrrr!!!!  

I have reminders in my calender for this sort of thing as no way I’d remember that far into the future! ? Australia feels like a distant memory already.

• Like 1

Yes, you'll need to do a tax return for the next year.  We arrived back in the UK last September, and are just getting the paperwork together to do our 2017/18 returns.  It's a bit of a pain, but I'm actually looking forwards to having it done.  It'll feel like a line has been drawn under Australia and we can stop worrying about the things that need to be completed.  Like Amber Snowball, Australia seems like a distant memory, it's all faded and I can't quite believe we lived there for so long.  Very happy to be back ?

• Like 2

10 hours ago, paulswin said:

So we're hopefully moving back in September but not sure what to do about my tax I'm employed and was going to do my end of year return now but am working up until we leave so anyone know if I can go in H & R block and file the end of year and sort out July, Aug and Sept tax that I will have paid or will I have to file one next year when I'm back in UK