Is a homeowner classed as an employer?

Aaron2478

Hi guys.

I arrive in Australia in may, I currently work in construction and have been offered work by a friend of the family restoring his home.

My question is, am I able to use this towards my 2nd year visa? With correct pay slips and paperwork is it possible to be employed by a home owner? Or does it have to be a business.

Many thanks 

So it's  in a designated regional area for 2nd WHV.  I know the application form asks for the business name and ABN (Australian Business Number)  of the employer.  Hopefully one of the regular Migration Agents will be along with their expertise.  

On 4/2/2018 at 17:18, Aaron2478 said:

Thanks for the quick replies everybody.

So it seems its a no go option. As far as I'm aware getting an ABN on a WHV isn't possible. 

Yes it is possible, I know  a few people who have done it.  If you're a freelancer of some kind (e.g. a musician or a web designer), then it's your only option.   

Whether it can work for you - it depends.  Could you get other, similar jobs for the rest of your WHV?  If so, then it would work.

When you apply for an ABN you have to make a legal statement that you're setting up a small business (as a sole trader).  The ATO will check on that.  If you get your ABN just to do this one job, then they'll say you're not a genuine business and prosecute you!  

If, on the other hand, you get your ABN and then continue to do a variety of contracting work for various people during your WHV, it's no problem.   

You will need to read up on how to work as a "sole trader".  Basically all you do is get your ABN, then when you do work for someone, you have to give them an invoice for the work.  You'll need to have your own insurance etc because you're not their employee.

Edited by Marisawright

So if I was able to get an ABN, would I only be able to operate the business for 6 months? As I'm only allowed to work for the sane employer for that amount of time.