189 visa social worker

Tdmclagan

Application for 189 visa ( will also add my partner and 2 young children. 

Hi I wonder if anyone can help? 

I'm a social worker with 9 years exp in the uk. I'm about to apply to the aasw to have my skills assessed, however do I need my qualifications assessed or do I also need the skilled employment assessment? And if so how many additional points would this give me? 

I have 60 points: 

25 for age 

15 for my degree

20 for 8-10 years exp

the aasw have noted they will deem me competent in English with proof of uk secondary education and degree. 

Many advice would be appreciated, thanks 

tracy 

Depends what area you want to work in when you arrive over here. You can get some jobs without having the aasw assessment - usually case management positions where they would also accept someone with a basic social sciences degree. For more skilled positions that require specified callings (usually social workers or psychologists) they usually ask for evidence that you are eligible for membership with the AASW. It's pretty straight forward to have the assessment done and although it's pricey you only need to do it once.
With the English test I wouldn't worry if you meet the points criteria. I done it to boost my points and have never been asked about it since. I have heard that they may process visas quicker with higher points so may be worthwhile if you want to speed things along.

Sent from my iPhone using PomsinOz

2 hours ago, louise7981 said: