Smile internet/Co operative Bank going under... Help

Libby

Well I've left most of my savings in my old UK bank account (Smile online banking) as I was waiting for the exchange rate to recover.

Well today I've heard that it is allegedly uncertain that Co Op bank will find a buyer and likely be wound down n I don't want to lose my savings so need to get it over here pronto.

Is there an alternative? I would like to do what UK residents can and open a new bank account back home, transfer my savings into them and wait for the exchange rate to recover but I can't as I'm now a permanent resident of Australia. 

Do I just take it on the chin and transfer the lost over here at the worst exchange rates for decades?

Also, is your £ safe if you were to add it to your Moneycorp account but leave it there until the exchange rate hit a Target of say $1.80??? Not sure how long that will take though.

I can't believe this is happening. We've had such a struggle to get here, being here n now this.

Thanks anyone. 

• 2 weeks later...

If I remember correctly as well as a residential address you need to produce ID in person at the bank as well. When I left UK I kept my UK bank account with my parents forwarding address.

I wouldn't worry too much about the Co Op bank not finding a buyer there will be some alternative at some point. I have a current account and a mortgage with them. I am sure they are not going to right the mortgage off ?

• Like 2

5 minutes ago, Alan Collett said:

Is very difficult to open a bank account in the UK these days when you do not have a residential address there.

Best regards.

It's not all that easy even when you have a residential address, the co-op for instance wouldn't let us open a basic account because we had not been resident for six months at the time!

• Like 1