Moving to Melbourne from Sydney...where to live??

Ben1979

Hi everyone, me my wife & our nearly 3 year old girl are moving from Sydney to Melbourne mid march due to my work requirements.

I will be working in Campbellfield & was wondering if anyone could advise on best suburbs to live. We currently live in Camden area in Sydney which we like due to its semi rural kind of setting but still has good facilities & a still within decent commute to the cbd or beaches etc (depending on traffic of course).

I have been doing a bit of research & so far I understand the eastern suburbs are more expensive & are considered the better suburbs to live by some of the things ive read, however I have no experience so really don't know?

We will be renting at first & have a budget of $550 a week, $600 max. Most of the houses in the east seem to be very old compared to where we live now.

We have looked at Point Cook which looks more like the kind of housing we have now ie new build but it seems very cheap so wondering if there is a reason why?

Im not bothered about being really close to the city but still would like to be near some good amenities for my wife as she won't be working.

I mentioned Point Cook to a couple of people at work & they didn't seemed to think it was a good area? although our research on it seemed to tick our boxes & it's close to the water & not too far to my work (google maps reckons 45mins max)

Anyway I would like some advice from current poms living in Melbourne please ?

Guest The Pom Queen

There is a lot of East/West divide snobbery. There is nothing wrong with Point Cook (apart from it being in the West :tongue: ) have you looked at Doreen, it use to be all fields but I'm told it's now new housing estates. http://www.realestate.com.au/rent/in-doreen%2c+vic+3754%3b+/list-1?source=location-search

If you want to be near the coast look at Williamstown, although property can be expensive.