Nurse needs advice

jultac

Hi guys.

Need some advice. I am an adult nurse 36yrs old with 7 yrs A&E and 3 years community experience. I desperately want to emigrate to Australia Perth.

I was disappointed to learn that employers are not recruiting foreign nurses so I wouldn't be able to get sponsorship which is what I really wanted. What is the best way for me to get a job there. I am not keen on applying for permanent residence as this process takes so long and is expensive. I know I have to get my registration through ahpra but what are my chances of getting a job if I apply direct to employers without a visa after I obtain my registration? A couple of nursing agencies have said they can get me jobs once I get a visa and I arrive in perth. I heard it's not that simple. Please help.:unsure::unsure::unsure:

There are benefits to being a permanent resident, especially if you have children ( no school fees, free medical care, you aren`t tied to a job if it turns crappy). You`ll need to start with nursing license first if you want a job without permanent visa. After you do that, you can do a travel assignment to Australia to see how you like it. If you are, however, keen to emigrate as you said then PR visa is the best option ( sponsored visa only lasts 4 years anyway ).

I am a paediatric nurse and got jobs direct with hospitals in sydney and Perth and both were willing to sponsor me for 457 visa. I took the job in sydney a year ago and they are now sponsoring for PR. You will need ah par registration which once obtained is valid for a year to get validated. May need skills assessment depending on visa type.

Have you looked at applying for posts that are advertised? I work in MH and I noticed that our last recruitment advertisement did say the preference would be given to Australian Permanent Residents. Also, have you tried the private sector? They're more likely to offer sponsorship