Child with a heart condition

josephk

Hi all,

As the title says our youngest child who is now 7 was born with a heart condition. I am a qualified midwife and my husband is a senior pharmacy technician, we hope to migrate to Adelaide in August. We submitted our 190 visa on 20/12/13 and have been fully aware that his condition may mean we could be refused our visa :(

Regardless we want Australia so much that we're prepared to try! He has had three heart surgeries as a baby and the last one he was 2 1/2 years old. Since then he has been extremely well and has once yearly check ups and has not needed hospitalisation since then. We are getting very nervous about how this May impact our visa. Has anyone here had or knows of others in a similar situation who have had their visa granted with no issues?

Liz and Kev

Have you done medicals yet? If not get as much evidence and supporting letters from consultant, docs, surgeon and whoever else to support your case and show that your son is in good health and so on. Have all that ready and to hand when you attend your medical and also then for after when it may be requested or further paperwork required.

My medical notes for a condition (not heart related) were scanned into the system by my panel doc during my medical and it was referred. Ask your panel doc what rating he is giving you on your medical, A rating being the best. They may not tell you but worth an ask. My doc told me my rating, an A but said it would still get referred due to medical condition. But that given the rating it hopefully would be passed fine without any fuss. Not saying your son will get an A rating but hopefully if he is fit and well now and has no problems there may be a positive outcome for you.

What they are looking at is possible cost to the Aus taxpayer and the financial limit on it is pretty high but not hundreds of thousands high iykwim. Hopefully someone knows the costs etc and can give you more info.