Applying for jobs

nikci

Hi Everyone,

I have a quick question and I am sorry if this question has already been asked but haven't been able to find the answer. Most recruitment agencies say they will not consider application until you have a visa yet I have read that others on this site have sent CV's etc for jobs. My question is who are the applications/cv's being sent to and are you just ignoring the visa requirement - thanks for your help!

Nikci

Hi our experience was that I'm a nurse and googles hospitals in WA, we had a fair idea where we wanted to live (I didn't want a massive commute), I then emailed off an expression of interest letter with my CV, told them I had applied for a visa. I had a telephone interview and they offerred me a post pending my getting my visa - they emailed me an application form to fill in (after the interview lol).

Hubby applied for jobs on Seek.com, but again had to say he was waiting for visa confirmation. A company contacted him and said that they needed someone to start right away, but they liked his CV and would keep it on file. A few months later - they contacted him and asked where the visa was upto (we'd got it by then), they set up a telephone interview and offerred him a job.

I don't think you've got anything to lose contacting companies with your CV - you may get lucky like my hubby did.

Ali

Guest Frenchy79

I am actually coming to Oz to work for a recruitment agency as this is what I do in the UK. They do state that Visas are needed, however I approached firms I knew and have received a job offer I wanted and they are sponsoring me. I always say, even as a recruiter, firms are more impressed if you approach them directly and get it sorted yourself (sshhhh don't tell my directors that!)

Hi