Family Sponsorship

cjirs

Hi, I'm new to all this and not very clued in on the various visas. Basically we are looking to emigrate to Aus but neither of us are on the skilled migration list. We are engaged to be married next April and hoping to move after the wedding. We have 3 young children. My fiance has recently set up his own photography business (landscapes, weddings etc) but his background is in Insurance (20 years). I am office admin.

He has a brother who lives in Sydney and I have an uncle and cousins in Melbourne. We know his brother can't help us as he is in NSW, but we were wondering if my family in Melbourne might be able to help by way of family sponsorship? It also just happens to be that one of my cousins is also a photographer with her own business.

I can't seem to find any information on extended family sponsorship, and as I say, I'm not up to speed with all the various visas available.

Can anybody help? Thanks so much.

Having family to sponsor you is only helpful if you have an occupation on the skills list and require the extra points that having a resident family member can bring you.

Other than for immediate family, spouse and children, there are no visas for family that do not also require you to be a skilled migrant with an occupation in demand.

Family sponsorship is a thing of the past. As above the only family sponsorship visa is now the 489 visa, which you require a occupation on SOL1, and sponsor requires to live in Regional Australia, even then this is only for a Provisional Visa.

Without an occupation on at least CSOL, and being able to gain a positive skills assessment there is not much other options.

With regards to your family in Melbourne, I guess that your cousin is a self-employed photographer, and therefore would not meet the eligible criteria to become a business sponsor.