Off to Oz and full of questions!

Wanji

Since I came home last summer after traveling in Georgia, Armenia and Iran, I've been thinking about my next big trip. Australia popped into my head immediatly. I graduated two days ago and with the shitty economy and lack of jobs it's the perfect timing for me to get my WHV and catch a plane to Oz.

I haven't booked my flight yet but i'm thinking of arriving in Cairns sometime in September so I can go and look for some regional work. Do you guys think Cairns is the best place to start during that time of year or would you advise a different place? I dont like big cities so I don't want to spend a lot of time in Sydney.

What about bankaccounts, which bank has the most atm's and not only in big cities but also in smaller towns?

How about simcards for my mobile. Which provider has the best coverage around country?

I have an Iranian visa in my passport. Do you guys think I will get in some trouble with immigration? I have a Dutch passport. Or do you guys think it's a good idea to get a new passport? This one is still valid untill june 2015.

The distances in between places in Oz are huge. I probably want to cover them by public transport. As I'm not in a rush, would you get a Greyhound pass or just buy tickets for each trip you want to make?

Any other general advise?

Thanks!

Guest lulum1986

I'm also interested to see the responses to this thread. I'm going travelling but in Jan. I can't afford to go before. I want to start in Cairns but have been advised to go start in Sydney at this time because of the weather? not To sure for myself either. Would ideally like to start in Cairns and work my way down to end up in Sydney