Advice Please - We were certain about where to go but not know

Misplaced

Hi,

To help you answer my questions I shall give you some background.

I am an Aussie who has lived in the UK for 30+ years and last year we decided that it would be good, as a family, to move back to my home city of Adelaide. We were still planning on this until this week when we have read on the POMS in Adelaide forum that Adelaide is in a poor state employment wise and things are only looking like they are getting worse.

My kids have Aussie Passports as do I and my wife has a Permanent Visa.

As I have been working in the UK Government for 24 years and 12 of those as a Business Analyst I have been looking at jobs within the APS (levels 5-6).

Now for the questions -

1 - What are the good areas to live around Canberra and what sort of income would be required those areas?

2 - As my kids are Aussie citizens what schooling costs would we have to pay?

3 - Outside of Canberra (say 45 min commute by car one way) are good areas to live?

4 - Of the areas given as answers in questions 1 & 3 what state schools are considered good - I know that schools are personal choice but an idea would be good.

5 - As we will not be near the sea what is there to do in Canberra and the surrounding areas?

6 - Are there any rugby union clubs and cricket clubs (rugby for the kids cricket for me and the kids)?

Sorry for all the questions but answers would be appreciated.

cheers

​Mis

Guest Bazinga

1. Look at allhomes and work it out. 2. No unless private. 3. Jerrabombera/Murrenbateman/Yass/queanbeyan 4. Look at Myschools. and once you've done 1 come back and ask abt that. 5. Lots. Google it. Sea/snow within 2hrs. Plenty of walks/cycling to do too. 6. Probably.

I suggest reading all the other similar threads on this board too to get some more answers.