20 year old thinking about moving back to the UK - student issues.

ktee

Hi all,

My family moved out from London to Melbourne seven years ago, when I was thirteen. I never wanted to immigrate, and as much as I've gotten used to Melbourne I can't help but feel that I'm still an outsider here. I'm now considering going back by myself, for many reasons.

I'm a student, and it's been my ambition for years to go to Cambridge University to study history. I achieved the marks I needed in order to get in. But, I discovered that although I'm a British citizen, I'd have to pay international fees in order to go to any university in the UK. Apparently, in order to get normal fee arrangements, I'd have to have lived in the UK as a resident for three years before the start of my course.

I'm considering finishing my undergraduate Arts degree at Melbourne Uni, then returning to the UK and doing casual work for three years before trying to get into Cambridge (or, if unsuccessful there, another university) for postgraduate study.

My questions are:

1. As a British citizen who hasn't lived there for a long time, would I have the right to work in the UK?

2. How easy is it for young people to get casual jobs at the moment in the UK? (I've worked casually for several years in call centres, conducting social research. Would there be similar opportunities?)

3. Or, is there any chance of getting a slightly better job with my Arts degree?

4. Is there any chance I'd be eligible for any welfare payments?

5. Would I be totally crazy to move back to Britain by myself, as a young person with little to no financial support from my family? Could I rent a flat? Could I survive?

Any answers to any of the questions would be much appreciated! :)

Hi there,

I have just returned to Oz from London. I can't answer most of your questions but I can answer some.

1. Yes you can work. I have British citizenship by descent and I had the right to start working in the UK right away.