Help to make the right choice

BelgianBun

Hi to all,

a friend of mine and ex-colleague has moved to Oz quite some time ago. Initially via a UK company with a subsidiary in Australia and recently set up his own company active within the IT industry (insurance and banking).

He's offering the option to work for/with him for 6/12 months (possibly longer) based in either Melbourne, Sydney or Brisbane, paying $700-800 per day + GST (not sure what that is); all of this on a 457 visa he's willing to sort out.

In the UK, I am a self-employed IT consultant running my own limited company, with a family (wife and 2 kids). I have a turnover of around £100k and pay 20% corporation tax. I live in the south west, not London and would therefore consider life to be not as costly (compared to London).

I'd like to have an idea on whether this is a decent offer, what I'd be expected to pay for living in any of those 3 cities quotes (which is best) and how this woud compare to UK standards. Also, my wife works part-time as an admin assistant for the LEA on about £13k. Will she be able to work?

Whilst the appeal is there, I am a bit apprehensive about it all - what to expect? Will I actually improve my standard of living? Any advice welcome.

Thanks!

Steven.

Hi steven cant really help that much, but yes your wife can work. I dont think it should be just about the money as OZ is expensive, sydney especially but if someone offered me that sort of money i would consider it. The areas really do vary thou so you need to research them depending on the type of life style you want, for example do you want to live in a city, by the beach, countryside? can you leave you business running in uk while you try it for a while? Its a hard decision but it must be a family decision with your wife and at least you know someone in OZ to help you. Good luck