Recommended amount to take with you.

skit78

Hi to all,

Would anyone have any advice on how much money would be sufficient to take to Perth when we make the move. My wife is a secondary school teacher and I am a plumber/ heating engineer from uk, so we will be coming over hopefully with a job offer for my wife if we manage to secure one befor we come out, but if not we will have to look for work when we are there.

We will be coming out for 5 weeks in July to activate the visas then moving out in December / January .

i know I will have to go back to collage to get my licence for plumbing work so we may need to live on one wage for a while (wife's) untill I can secure a job plumbing.

Anyway would like some advice on how much £s to take with us.

Thanks for your advice

sccott.

Guest Guest26012

It's difficult to give an estimate. You'll need enough for rental and bond to see you through the first few months. Whilst you're over here have a good look around and look in real estates for the price of rentals in the areas you would like to settle. Some come with very little, but have jobs to come to. You'll need to factor in transport and food of course. It's not cheap to set yourself up initially here so bring as much as you can is my advice. Good luck.