Speeding Fines

Guest pabloke99

Guest pabloke99

When working in Oz in 1999 I was pulled over for speeding, but the copper let me off with a warning when I produced my UK dvg lic; guess it was just too much trouble for him. I am curious as to whether this ploy would still work once I'm a permanent resident?

Guest The Baggo's

Don't think it would work now! I got a $100 fine and just a letter put through the post - just like UK!

The policeman was also hiding behind a van

it worked for me ,but i had only been here 4 week!!! couldnt believe my luck,mrs PC was sooo not happy when i pulled out my Uk licence,but as you say too much hassle ,,hubby got fined twice not long after but was on an aussie licence,,i guess it depends on the cop that day!!!

Cal x

Guest Sheerluck
When working in Oz in 1999 I was pulled over for speeding, but the copper let me off with a warning when I produced my UK dvg lic; guess it was just too much trouble for him. I am curious as to whether this ploy would still work once I'm a permanent resident?

Once you get permanent residency, you have 3 months to convert your UK license to a local one, otherwise you will run the risk of being prosecuted for unlicensed driving as well as speeding!

I've already looked into that one!

Dave

It does get me how it's double demerit points on public holiday weekends - but was amazed that over the xmas holidays it lasted more than a week. Also they they put the sign to warn you of a speed camera right infront of the guy with the camera - talk about sneeky. OH has even seen a cop hide to ensure no one is using the bus land when they're not supposed to.

Ali

Guest Sexy Welsh Aussie Bird