Moving to WA. Is it possible for a single parent???

travelchic

Hi all.

I am a single mum and am looking to re-locate from UK to Perth area with my little boy who is 5. I chose this area as I have friends in this area (Clarkson, Mullaloo) and feel that i need a support system. I am a nurse and am looking to work full time.

After reading so many posts about the cost of living I am now worried that I will be unable to make ends meet. I will have some money to start us off but would hate for that to run out and have to come home.

I have looked on seek.com for nurse posts and there are loads but none of them advertise a salary and this is important as there will be only one wage. Can anyone tell me what sort of salary i could expect to take home. Being a single parent i will be unable to do nights or weekends. I have a lot of experience in Endoscopy.

I drive in the UK but will only drive in oz if I have to. I also need to take into consideration child care for before and after school.

Any advice would be gratefully appreciated.

Many thanks.

Deb.

I am not in nursing, but I believe that nurses earn something like $60-70k or thereabouts? I am sure someone can confirm that soon.

I would advise trying to get a permanent visa in your situation, then you would be entitled to thinks like help with childcare rebate and so on.

Nursing salaries are very good in Oz so I think you will be fine cost of living wise. I am also going as a single mum,but my son is 15 so child minding isn't an issue for me. If it were me I would try for some jobs first that offer sponsorship on a 457 visa. The reason I say that is because you will need to be sure first of all that you are not expected to do nights or weekends. If you find something that really suits, then you can go to Australia still apply for your 190 visa while you are there. That way the minute you arrive in Oz you will have a secure starting point.