Applying as electrician with bachelor degree!

josephcom

I worked as an electrical technician for 5 years and got my BS degree after that and ever since I've been working as an electrical engineer. but I've recently been assessed by Engineers Australia as "Engineering Technologist", because they believe my BS degree is comparable to the educational level of the AQF Associate Degree and also my Associate Degree is comparable to the educational level of the AQF Certificate 4. Anyway, for three reasons I'm going to apply for visa 189 as an electrician rather than a technologist or a technician:

1. It's highly in demand according to Skillselect Occupation Ceiling much more than a technologist or technician.
  2. This way I can claim for 7 years of work experience rather that 2 years (since it's been 2 years from the time when I got my BS degree which is now considered as Associate Degree).
  3. electrician could be found on Occupation List of ALL states and territories which is not the case for technologists and technicians. I mean I could find state sponsorship much easily.

My questions:

1. Is it possible for TRA to refuse to recognize me as an electrician just because I'm holding a bachelor degree or what I've done does not match the job description of an electrician or whatever.
  2. Does applying for a permanent visa (189) as an electrician means that I will never find a job as a technologist/technician in Australia. Please note that I've been already assessed as technologist by Engineers Australia.

Thank you

Welcome to PIO

From what you have posted you really need to speak to a Registered Migration Agent - regarding which occupation best matches your Qualifications and work experiance.