PMP or PRINCE2 - which is more widely accepted as a PM certification in Australia?

Guest doniedsilva

Guest doniedsilva

Hello friends,

I am a Project Manager in the IT field. Would like to know which certification is more widely accepted in Australia as I am planning move to WA as soon as I get my Visa stamped.

Many Thanks.

Donie

Guest geordielass71

Hi

I have been in recruitment for a long time and a Recruitment Manager in an IT company - both are recognised here but Prince2 is more desired by employers.

I've lived in Sydney for a number of years as a project manager, albeit in construction sector, and there is no comparisson with respect to which qualification is better recognised, it has to be Prince 2. I'm not saying I agree with that sentiment, but from my experience its much more widely recognised and accepted.

Frogster

Guest laroo76

My hubby is a project manager with Prince 2 cert, who currently (in UK) work in pharma/IT, how easy is it to take his PM skills to construction/mining, as that seems to be where all the PM work is, (well in Brisbane anyway),, any advice?

Guest laroo76
My hubby is a project manager with Prince 2 cert, who currently (in UK) work in pharma/IT, how easy is it to take his PM skills to construction/mining, as that seems to be where all the PM work is, (well in Brisbane anyway),, any advice?

Meant to say we land in just over 3 weeks...

Although the principles of PM remain the same, it would be difficult to communicate or understand the projects needs, If not having any construction / mining know how. His current field in Pharma is worlds apart. So, I would imagine very difficult even to find an employer willing to take a chance.

I'd agree with moven, I have been working in construction and have found it hard to transition into resources, though I have been talking to them from afar (i.e. while in the UK) and without a confirmed visa.