Making an Australian Will with foreign assets

netizen

I really need to make a Last Will And Testament. But as a "temporary resident" of Oz, I keep most of my assets abroad (so no income tax or CGT on them). I can imagine that this arrangement could make for a complicated legal situation. A typical Oz lawyer won't know about the UK rules and vice versa. I don't want to make a Will that turns out to be useless because it doesn't cover all the UK-resident assets. I'm also unclear on UK inheritance tax. Does anyone have experience of dealing with this?

Thanks v. much in advance.

One of the good things is Australia doesn't have death duties whereas in the UK your estate can lose a fair bit of tax.

I'm not an expert but have been the recipient in Australia of my father's assets (He lived and died in the UK).

I would speak to an Australian lawyer first.

I think if you were to die in Australia and have some Australian assets you might need a will made in Australia.

I'm not sure whether any probate would be paid in the UK if you die in Australia.

Best to check with a lawyer I think.

We are also temporary residents here on a 410 retirement visa. We have assets in both UK and here.

we took advice a few years ago, only hope it was correct! And we have a will in both countries. We put UK assets in a trust to hopefully avoid inheritance tax.

I can't vouch that this is correct, but our solicitor claimed that it was.

i wonder if Allan Collect from Go Matilda would worth contacting? Let me know please if you find out any thing, in case we are wrong.