Wedding Industry in Oz????

lillystar26

Hi

This is only my 2nd post so not sure if this is in the right place. :err:

We are hoping to move to oz (probably on a 457) I would like to get into the wedding industry and wondered if anyone knew much about it...i.e if there is a need for wedding shops/wedding planners.

Many thanks in advance

Vix

I did a quick google for wedding planners melbourne and it came up with this:

http://www.google.com.au/search?q=ng+planner+melbourne&rls=com.microsoft:en-au&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&startIndex=&startPage=1&rlz=1I7GGHP_enAU442&redir_esc=&ei=7xMVT5LNEO6jiAeu04VD#hl=en&rls=com.microsoft:en-au&rlz=1I7GGHP_enAU442&sa=X&ei=9RMVT4XQBoK1iQej5MFD&ved=0CCYQvwUoAQ&q=wedding+planner+melbourne&spell=1&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.,cf.osb&fp=f87e263762c49db9&biw=1192&bih=514

I work in the cut flower industry, and we supply florists & wholesalers all over Australia, and weddings are very big business (we also rent out our unit regularly for wedding guests as the dandenongs is a popular spot for weddings & receptions) but it is a business that is strongly driven by recommendations, years of experience & word of mouth.

You might need to find work with a company already in the industry to get an idea of how things work over here (very different from the UK) before venturing into the industry yourself.

Thanks for that info. We are looking to go to perth so I guess I should probably research there. I was thinking of settling in and researching for a couple of yrs before I do anything as I have 3 young children, 4, 2 & 1. Working with a company is a very good idea to see how it works over there etc...

Thanks for that info. We are looking to go to perth so I guess I should probably research there. I was thinking of settling in and researching for a couple of yrs before I do anything as I have 3 young children, 4, 2 & 1. Working with a company is a very good idea to see how it works over there etc...