Contracting in Aus / NSW

daveg1980

Hi,

I am an IT contractor and looking to contract in Sydney, NSW. I am hoping to come across on a 176 visa.

I have done a fair amount of reading, but its very hazy on the contractor setup in aus. In UK its either an Umbrella or Ltd company. I think the law is quite different in Aus, I am just wondering how other contractors have got setup in aus?

Are there any tax benefits with being in contract employment?

Do contractors get setup as normally employees?

I am keen to understand my options before speaking to a financial advisor when I get out there.

Many thanks,

Dave

How it was explained to us it works very much on an 80/20 rule and therefore our financial adviser said we needed to go through an umbrella company as my husband contracts but only ever one client at a time. We researched umbrella companies and went with one for his first contract and paying 3.5% for the service. On his current contract the company he is contracting for has their own payroll department and therefore aren't paying any fees.

There are benefits to contracting (bigger salaries for one) but we haven't seen the tax benefits that are like working outside IR35 in the UK. But my husband wouldn't change a thing he said.

Thats great thanks, I will have a look at umbrellas. It does seem a very unclear area and not much around on the internet. I would be interested to know if there is any kind of tax benefit, as I have just been using a australian salary calculator to work out take home pay.

Are you enjoying brisbane?

Thanks,

Dave

Hi,

I am joining this thread as I am in a similar position to yours. I will soon be granted a 176 visa and plan to go to Sydney and work as an IT contractor.

I have got a few questions in my mind :

- I think I will first live in a temporary housing, is it a problem to start one's business ? My address is expected to change when I will find a permanent housing..