Defacto Partner Visa - guidance required please

fnb71

Happy New Year! I’m a PIO newbie and have found the site to be a great source of information.

I intend to lodge a partner application in the UK at the end of March 2012 and wish to travel to Australia before the 8th of April (which is the last date of entry allowed on my current 676 tourist visa). My OH is my sponsor and has a 176 visa with PR, we have been together nearly 4 years.

It has been suggested that I front load the application with police checks and medicals (which I intend to do) and to notify the High Commission in London of my intention to travel at time of lodgement. Would it be better to discuss this face to face ie deliver the application in person or is it fine to make notes of my travel plans and submit a posted application?

I would like to book flights to Australia before lodgement but do not wish to jeopardise my application by doing something wrong. My reason for travel is purely to visit friends and family in Australia. I do not intend to work and will have a return flight. Is there any reason that I would not be allowed to travel to Australia while my application is being processed?

Any guidance/feedback offered will be most appreciated.

cheers

Fiona :smile:

Hi, I would just write a covering letter and post your application in. You are very unlikely to come in to contact with anyone that can do anything more than accept your application and take payment if you make a personal visit to Australia House.

Guest GeorgeD