Need all the advice I can get!

Guest StuMagill

Guest StuMagill

Hi everyone

Im new to the forum, and joined because im seriously looking into moving to australia.

Before i ask a tonne of question i apologise as I know they have probably been asked 100s of times before but trying to scroll through all the theads is a nightmare

I am a complete newbe to all this and need all the help i can get, if any of u could help me with getting started that would be great.

As the construction market is terrible in the UK, my girlfriend and I are wanting to move to australia in serach of work. I have a degree in Building surveying and my girlfriend has a degree in Architecture.

What sort of visas should we be looking at and how long do they take to complete and be finalised?

Obviously we will go where we find work, but is there any sites that allow u to apply for jobs in australia to start in maybe 6 months time to give u time to move, or is it better to move somewhere first then look for the jobs?

Any advice on accomodation would be great, rental companies, advice on length of leases, typical rental prices for a one bed apartment?

How much more expensive is the cost of living? just so i can gage what would be a decent salary

Any other advice like setting up new bank accounts, phones etc would also be much appreciated.

Sorry to be a pain because I know so little!

Thanks

Stuart

The quickest route I think is the 176 state sponsored visa, 1 of you would be the main applicant and the other secondary, its roughly 8 months to a year and involves possibly taking an IELTS english test and getting your skills assessed, decide who the main applicant is by doing a points test on diac's site under the 176, You need to look at each states migration plan and see which skill is in demand still and also where you want to live most.

Commonwealth bank do a london transfer account and sets up an account for you