Public sector pensions: Have you transferred yours over?

mr luvpants

Guest lkquick

hiya, we are moving over in January, I am a nurse and my husband is a retired (early) teacher. I don't know if this is any help but we have looked into taking ours over there and have decided to do so. We got Pensions Transfer to do us an analysis of what they are worth. We then looked at the pros and cons of both options and decided that we will take them, our reasons being;

1. at present if transferred over within 6 months of you moving you don't pay any tax on it, which could change in the future.

2. You have control over it then, which was our main driver, and can claim it whenever you choose, not having to wait till your 70+, which this govt will make it by the time I get to retire!

3. You take it as a lump sum but can then invest it however you choose.. eg. back into another superannuation pot over there, property, high interest account etc.

4. It was also suggested to us that it is possible that the rules around claiming uk pensions when living overseas may change , eg the govt may change the rules and say you can only claim half of it

so overall we decided we want to be in control of our pensions rather that this govt, with all the current uncertainty and changes they are wanting to make to our pension pots.

Hope some of that helps,

Lois

I don't claim to know about or understand pensions but agree with most of what has been said above and can recommend you get Pension Transfers to do a report for you it's free and I found it very helpful and are about to follow their advice and move ours over also although these are private not public service.

---

I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=-35.171700,149.106225

Guest leccyman

hi, these are really helpful posts. we are considering what the best options are for us when we move in January. Could I just check is that Pensiontransfer.co.uk that you are talking about?

Guest Jenny B