Working Holiday Visa - Finding Work in Oz

Cruz

Hi,

I'm thinking about heading over to Sydney for a few months on a working holiday visa. My Girlfriend has been over there for the past 3 weeks and has had no issues finding temp work, even though she does'nt have many qualifications.

Various people who Ive spoken to say that I should have no issues finding work over there with my qualifications, but I still have my doubts.

I have:

an NCON in Peer Mentoring.

BA (Hons) in TV and Radio.

Btec ND in Music Technology

Although I graduated in media, I have spent the past few years working as a Youth Mentor/Support worker, and kept media production as a hobbie.

I'm not too fussed what work I do out in oz, as I only plan on staying for a few months. Having said that, it would be good to find something in the media or youth/mentoring field.

So I'm unsure as to whether I should apply for a job before I get over there, (From what I can gather, some companies sort out your visa when you do this?), or just apply for the WHV, and look for work when I arrive?

Thanks for any info on this

C

Hi! It would be quite hard to get a reply from an employer from oustide the country. presuming you have some funds best thing would be to apply for the WHV and hop on over. Sounds like you have some good expereince. Would you consider migrating?

Most people of WHV find casual jobs in things such as retail, hospitatlity or agricultural work. A good place to start would be www.seek.com.au; backpackers websites http://www.backpackerjobboard.com.au/; http://www.taw.com.au/DesktopDefault.aspx;. A lot of hostels also advertise jobs for backpackers. When you get here also bring an upto date copy of your CV and regsiter with some temp agenices. I got offered heaps of work on my WHV - espcially as a grad you should have no worries. Good luck mate.