Please help - very confused about which visa my partner should apply for!

mallory

Hello all,

I am looking for some advice as to which visa my partner should apply for to obtain permanent residency in Australia.

I am a permanent resident, however am currently living in the UK until I complete uni in early November (2 months time!). I will then be moving to Cleveland, Qld to join the rest of my family who have been there since April. My partner and I have been together for 4 years and are unsure as to easiest and most cost-efficient way of him being granted a permanent visa.

He is a chemistry graduate and is looking for work in the mining/environmental field. He has so far applied for a working holiday visa, which should be in place in time for the big move. But I am concerned that as this only allows him to work for 6 months it may put off potential employers. Obviously in the ideal world we would go, he would find a job, and get an employer sponsored visa, but I don't really want to take the risk as if this doesn't happen we would have to come back and start again.

We are currently looking at applying for a Prospective Marriage Visa, this would cost in the region of $2000 plus costs of medicals, CRBs etc. Our idea was the apply for this once the working holiday visa is in place, then hopefully as it takes 4-5months to be granted, this could replace the working holiday visa before it expires. This would then give us 9 months to marry in Australia, and I believe a permanent visa would be granted upon being married for 2 years?? However this is my first time at dealing with the Australian immigration system (I was lucky enough to have my family sort out my visa!) and I'm feeling quite clueless - really confused if this is best path for us to go down, especially due to the cost of the visa.