Electrical Engineers need advice?

Guest DaisyC

Guest DaisyC

Hey everyone,

My boyfriend and I have decided to make the move to Brisbane. He is an electrical project manager and I am an electrical design engineer and were both previously electricians. I was hoping that someone would be able to point me in the right direction as to which courses and training we would need to complete before our move to bring us u to speed on Australian Electrical and Engineering Regulations. Is this something that an agent would be able to help us with as we are going to a seminar in a couple of weeks time.

Thanks, Daisy xx

Daisy,

Not sure if you have posted in the wrong forum.

Are you after electrician trade information or engineering skills assessment information?

As I understand It in Oz sparkys and electrical engineers are considered different, both for immigration and work. I take off in august for Bris and have had a skills assessment for IEAust as an electrical engineer.

Let me know if I can help at all.

Doc.

Guest DaisyC

Hi, thanks for replying. It's engineering skills assessment training were looking for. The move to oz is a decision we have only recently made and were just trying to do as much research as we can to maximise our chances of getting work.

As I mentioned previously we are both electrical engineers and will be looking for work as engineers. I just wanted to know if there was any gap training or courses anyone could recommend to bring us up to speed on the Aus reg's and standards?

Thanks and I hope your move all goes smoothly, Daisy xx

Hi Daisy,

If you are going as engineers the process is quite simple, as far as skills assessments go.

You need to go to the Institute of Engineers Australia and get a skills assessment as professional engineers. They will want certified copies of your degree certificates (that need to be accredited to the Washington accord), passport page, verified CV and proof that you are presently employed as engineers.