General Skilled Visa vs Family sponsored Visa Question....

Guest Jocky

Guest Jocky

Hi all,

I'm looking at emigrating to Oz and want to apply for permanent residency. My dilema is whether to go for a skilled visa or a family sponsored one.

I work in IT as a Network Security Engineer (which is of the skills shortage list) and have over 5 years experience in this area.

I also have a sister that could sponsor me as she is married to an Aussie and lives over there as a Permanent Resident in Melbourne.

I think I have the points to do it either way, so the question really is which would be easier / quicker?

An important factor is that I (and my wife) would want to live and work in Sydney, whilst my sister lives in Melbourne. Do you have to live in the same City / State as the person who sponsors your Visa (if you go down that road?)

As I said, I would prefer to do the application myself rather than pay for an agency.

Many thanks in advance,

Jocky

Hi Jocky

Just looked into this (in Oz but applying as offshore).

Family sponsored is much quicker, 4-6 months and the agency I spoke with said there are less people applying, therefore, less competition. However, you need to get your application in before 1st July if you are applying for subclass 139 as they are possibly making it a temporary visa after July.

If you go through the 138 route, it still takes 12-15 months for approval. Also, you don't need to get involved in the points system, although, you will have to submit a bond for two years.

General route is longer 12-15 months and you are at the mercy of the ever changing points system. However, your skill is likely to remain on the hot list for the forseeable future.

Hope this helps.

Pj

Guest choobs
Hi Jocky

If you go through the 138 route, it still takes 12-15 months for approval. Also, you don't need to get involved in the points system, although, you will have to submit a bond for two years.

Pj