457 Visa

My husband has been offered a very well paying job as a doctor on a 457 visa which he has accepted - he is 47 and was told the 457 was due to having to sit exams within 3 years of arriving in order to be awarded fellowship to the australian royal college? is this right? Do we have any other visa options as it makes me slightly nervous that the visa is not permanent and we are both giving up our jobs and uprooting our family to go. I am a nurse, aged 41 and don't plan to go to work straight away as our youngest is only 20 months (I am working at present but have good childcare - when we move I would obviously want to look into this before making any decisions as to where he would go). Also, when I looked at the points system, even with a Masters degree in my field and if I sat the IELTS test I would be 5 points short of the 120. Any advice re options?

Also, if we do go over on the 457 what are the chances of making it permanent after 2 years given my husbands age?

Where will your husband be working?

It is likely you will be looking at a move to a "regional area" of Australia - I believe this is required so a Medicare provider number can be obtained - which will probably mean permanent residency will be via the Regional Sponsored Migration Scheme (RSMS) in due course.

Best regards.

I would urge you to contact the Australian royal college to ask about the exam the employer is referring to.

I would also suggest you look into the registration process with AHPRA since there have been many drs out here not being able to work since AHPRA failed to register them in a timely manner.

The employer should offer you assistance through this process so please ask for it. You do have to ask otherwise you won't get out here.

Childcare is very accessible out here, even if you chose not to work initially, I would suggest you also look into the registration process as it can take months. At least 6 to be registered.