457 to PR

pope6

I've received sponsorship from a large construction & civil eng company (i'm a construction professional) and they're arranging the 457 visa at the moment. we're hoping to eventually convert the temp visa to PR and nationality. initially i'd assumed as long as everything went ok with the company and we didn't infringe any visa rules it would be a straightforward process to convert to PR after 2 years (can someone please confirm it is 2 years??). but i recently read that your profession stills needs to be on the current SOL when you apply for PR. if this is right (and it sounds common sense), then there is the chance that everything goes well professionally and socially, but at the end of the 457 we can't stay. is this right??

Assuming you would go for PR by being sponsored by the company for an 856 ENS visa, your occupation must be on the ENSOL (rather than the SOL) at the time you apply for the 856. The ENSOL (at least until now), hasn't been nearly as volatile as the SOL and if that continues, there's a good chance that if it's on the ENSOL now, it should still be on there two years from now, though of course it's impossible to say for sure.

Migration Regulations 1994 - Specification under subparagraphs 5.19(2)(h)(i) and (ii), 121.211(b)(ii), 856.213(b)(ii), paragraph 5.19(2)(i), sub-subparagraphs 121.211(b)(i)(A) and 856.213(b)(i)(A) - Employer Nomination Scheme - Occupations, Locations The current ENSOL

One more thing springs to mind from your question. If the employer is willing to sponsor you and if you get skills assessment and can meet the other visa requirements, there is no need to wait for 2 years before you apply for an 856. The 2 years really only applies if you want or need to do without skills assessment.

Thanks ozmaniac thats enlightened me no end.

do you know what is involved in the 856 skills assessment for construction/civil eng professionals? (interview? exam?)