Aircraft Engineers Converting your Licence.

Guest steve vowell

Guest steve vowell

I hope my experience is helpful to any engineers trying to convert to the Aussie licence system.

I am a type rated B2 engineer in the UK but also hold a B1 with no type ratings, and have had issues with my electrical cover as the Aussie licence system does not gel with EASA 66 licences. I have been granted Instrument and Radio credits in line with my A320/21, A330, B757 & B767 but have lost my meager electrical cover afforded to me by my B2 (no grandfather rights)

CASA do not recognise LWTR's and will only grant you the credits towards an Aus licence if you hold a type on your licence and a company approval for at least 6 months related to your UK licence.

I have held my B1 for over 6 months and have carried out an A330 B1 type course I also have over 10 years experience on type with a log book to support the last year or so, I am awaiting an engine course so I can apply for my UK type rating (end of this month). Even with this ammount of supporting data CASA still would not grant me my electrics on the A330.

My life now hangs in limbo as Visa's are in place and job in Perth is waiting.

If anyone needs any help converting their licences or understanding the CASA licencing system I have now got a reasonable understanding of how to apply and how it all works thanks to my misfortunes let me know and I will see fi I can assist.

:arghh:

You have done all you can Mr Vowell, and your wife and family just hope that the job offer remains open till you can get the electrics, and then we can all start our adventure....mind u judging from the electrical efforts of your kit car im not sure your worthy of the licence...ha ha.

Love you loads

The WIFE

• 3 weeks later...

I think its shocking as a B1 LAME i can get Electrics from CASA no problem! yet you as an experienced B2 cant!