Queensland climate??

siliisobel

Hi all

Im new to this and looking at moving to Queensland. I wonder if you could give me a bit of inside info on the weather?

What are the winters like and how cold does it get?? If at all?? Also is it humid or dry? and most importantly - are there any mosquitos?? :eek:

Thanks guys!!

Hi all

Im new to this and looking at moving to Queensland. I wonder if you could give me a bit of inside info on the weather?

What are the winters like and how cold does it get?? If at all?? Also is it humid or dry? and most importantly - are there any mosquitos?? :eek:

Thanks guys!!

G'day mate, depends entirely on where one wants to settle. Queensland is roughly 7 times the size of the UK and and ranges from cool to cold winters in the Granite belt (Stanthorpe area) to warm to hot winters in the far north.

The interior (western Queensland) can get very cold in winter, I have seen frosts in the backblocks. Indeed, in the Pioneer Valley behind Mackay (tropical), a few hundred acres of sugar cane was frost damaged.

Humid areas are the coastal strip, dry areas are west of the Great Dividing Ranges, generally.

Mossies...lots of 'em, even out in the semi desert areas along the waterholes.

But, all in all, it is great state.icon14.gif

Cheers, Bobj.

Guest The Ropey HOFF

Whats the true situation with the rain mate, i know this year as been different, but in general, how much does it rain, one week in a row, two weeks, a month, or is it haphazard. One minute we hear about droughts and then its rain for ages. Whats a usual year like, by each month?

Whats the true situation with the rain mate, i know this year as been different, but in general, how much does it rain, one week in a row, two weeks, a month, or is it haphazard. One minute we hear about droughts and then its rain for ages. Whats a usual year like, by each month?