Confused 176 chartered accountancy work experience requirement

Guest jb3151

Hello everybody!

I am hoping somebody will be able to give us some advice before my head officially explodes!!

My boyfriend and I are currently looking to come to Australia in Feb 2011. We hold working holiday visas already so will be initially coming over on that. However, we have been looking into ways to stay permanantely if we decide to stay!!

I am a veterinary surgeon with 18 months experience and he is a chartered accountant who qualified in September this year. It is basically his work experience that is confusing us a lot!

We have found NSW have released a very small number of 176 Sydney specific visas:

Skilled Sponsored Migration: Business Migration: Industry & Investment NSW

One of the occupations on this is chartered accountancy - risk management, which is the job my boyfriend has been doing for the past 3.5 years for one of the 'big four' financial firms. Is this enough relevant experience as he was doing the job whilst training for his qualification or do they require the work expeirence to be post ACA chartered accountancy qualification?? I was previously looking at 175 and I know that work experience for that is post qualification......but the 176 seems a bit hazy!

If anyone could help it would be fab as everything being up in the air is starting to stress us a lot!!!

Thanks again

Julie and Tim x

Hi Julie,

As long as he has an accountancy degree he should pass the skills assessment, and then the experience would be after he'd completed that.

Unless its changed since I applied. I got my visa in October 2009, and that was the case then. I did also have to sit the IELTS. I know the codes have changed for accountants in that it was a general 'accountant' code previously whereas now its split out into 'internal auditor' etc etc.