Teaching in Queensland - so frustrated!

NZStidz

Grrr! I am so frustrated after spending some time researching teaching (primary) in Queensland. I am from the UK but have NZ Citizenship and have lived north of Auckland for 8 years. I am a provisionally registered teacher here in NZ which means I can apply for registration in Qld based on the Trans Tasman recognition programme. No problems so far. We are moving to the Gold Coast in Jan and we have our eye on Pacific Pines, thought it would be a good place for our children who are 12 and 8, with schools and amenities close by. So here in NZ you browse the Teaching Gazette for vacancies and if you see one, in a location you like, you apply... I had visions of being able to teach at one of the primaries locally but here's what I found out. You have to apply to the teaching council and then they place you in a vacancy where THEY want you to teach. This is mind boggling to me as part of the criteria for both the employer and employee should be the "fit" - schools are very different and I fail to see how someone in a office at the teaching council could match up a school and teacher. This is SOOO disappointing to me as I am not prepared to leave my career in the hands of someone else, I would like to apply (as a grown adult) to the job of my choice and then have the decision left with my employer who would know what type of person would fit in their school. Anyway, I am off to scream into my pillow...:arghh:

I understand that you have to do the hard yards in schools they choose before you get to choose in QLD.

In Victoria you only get permanent if you do the hard yards too, otherwise its all contract and CRT work.

I do not know why people ever thought it was easy to get a job as a teacher here, there are plenty of Aus ones doing CRT trying to get positions. Any nice area of Aus has more than enough teachers in my view.