Totally Green!! Which Visa??!!

MikenSal

Hi to everyone. My wife and I have just made the decision to try for a visa. I've done the points/eligibility test on one of the agency sites and its coming up with a score of 135 over 120 for a Skilled Independent Visa, so we feel encouraged by the result. The thing is, I'm now confused as to which visa to go for. Other than waiting a year or so and getting a few more pounds together to help us on our way, I've read that there's a govt sponsored visa. Is this the same as the skill match list? As I don't like the idea of that. I looked at the list of people with the same trade as me and there were a few on the list that had been on there for nearly the full 2 years.

Guest Alison1967

Hi MikenSal

I can't really help you here, as we decided to do a straight 136 Skilled (MODL) Independent Visa as I am a registered nurse. We decided on this because we didn't want to be tied to a employer or state for several years.

We are hoping to move to Adelaide this summer, where are you hoping to go? Have you been out there ?

What area in North Wales are you, my hubby Keith was born in Mancot and lived in Shotton until we married.

Good luck with your choice. Check all the aussie websites out and your sure to get lots of good advice and encouragement.

Alison

• 2 weeks later...

:) Hi Alison.

Thanks for the reply.

We both fancy Perth, just seems to have a pull for us but all the vacancies for my line of work(spraying) seems to be round Melbourne and Adelaide. We've not been out there yet although it's something at least one of us could do with doing before we decide on a destination.

Being realistic, financially its probably a couple of years down the line, although if there was a way of getting sponsored, I'd jump at it.

It looks like we've just got to pull our belts in and go for a Skilled Independent Visa.