Should we apply for State Spon or wait until after new SOL

HarryOb1

Hi all,

we should have my skills assessment from ACS in acouple of weeks.

Should we apply for SS once the ACS bit is complete or should we wait until the new SOL comes out?

What happens if my occupation is took off the new SOL and we have already applied for SS? Seeing as they have suspended applications for the 176, would it mean that the application for SS is null and viod as we can't apply for 176 because it's no longer on the SOL?

Thanks,

Harry.

Guest VickyMel

Hi Harry

Most of the states seem to have suspended giving out SS at the moment (probably until DIAC start taking apps again) - maybe check the one you are interested in as you may find the decision has already been made for you.

I think the states are allowed occupations not on the SOL (but who knows what will happen) - but maybe check you still get the points you need - so long ago I don't remember properly but I think we needed the points we got from the occupation being on the SOL (but I could be wrong as I say it was a while back now).

The new SOL maybe out before the states accept applications again?

Its all a bit hit and miss at the moment... I hope it all works for you

VickyMel

Thanks VickyMel for the info.

It's all a bit pear shaped alright.

I was going to be applying to ACT, i've just checked their wesite and it's allowing me to proceed with making an application. Doesn't really matter, i won't have the ACS bit for a couple of weeks.

I was just wondering and looking for advise if it would be a waste of time and money applying now-ish for SS or better to just wait until the new SOL arrives.

Thanks for the response,

Harry.

Guest VickyMel

Always worth getting everything together ready for the next stage.

I think I saw that ACT & NT had not announced anything yet.

ACT always seem pretty clued up and on top of things and maybe NT don't get too many applications - maybe they can both keep running??