Furnished rentals in Sydney's Inner West

Hi there!

I'm a newbie!! :smile:

My husband, baby and I will be moving to Sydney in 2 weeks and staying in an appartment for the first 4 weeks provided by my husbands company, after which we'll then be looking for our own rental place. I've looked at Domain but struggle to find houses/apartments that come fully furnished, which are to a decent taste! Ideally we'll want a 3 bed, 2 bathroom in a nice area, near water or with water views! max budget approx $650 per week.

Any suggestions??

Amy

Rentals here are very rarely furnished, you usually have to provide everything (except a cooker and the kitchen sink!). The few furnished places that are available are more aimed at the short term rental market and unlikely to come in under $650/wk for a 3 bed

You would be better off finding one unfurnished in a location you're happy with then getting cheap furniture (second hand or from Ikea/Fantastic Furniture) to start you off.

You should be able to get a 6 month lease then extend it until you leave, when I say short term rentals I mean leases of 3 months max.

You may be able to rent some things, Radio Rentals is one name I've seen around. For a 9 month adventure i'd probably suggest going for local garage sales for furniture then having a garage sale to resell the bits on when you leave.

• 1 year later...
Guest Shilpa

Hi,

Were yo able to find out any furnished rentals in Sydney?

I too am looking for the same. I would prefer to rent a furnished home for 3 months somewhere in the suburbs. We are OK to spare 1 hr commute to city to work everyday. This is because we are planning to buy a house in 3 months time and we dont want to rent anything more than for 3 months.

Please let me know f anyone knows the best agents/ websites to find furnished short term rentals. We have a budget not exceeding 500$ p.w..

Thanks a lot!

Guest Shilpa

Hi Jeremyhayes,

I never said I want to rent a 3 bed, 2 bath..