kids, visa and speed of application

Guest Mel & Ed

Guest Mel & Ed

Hi Everyone...Happy New Year!!

We put our visa application in in Nov and as i am a practicing nurse was told it should go through quite swiftly..!!

WE have 3 small kids -does this slow things down??

Oldest child had my maiden name at birth(no fathers name on birth cert) and then latter changed by deed poll to my married name - will this slow things down??

I thought we would have been allocated a CO by now??or meds requested?

Anyone have any info re time scale or potential problems with kids on visa,

Many thanks

Melanie

Guest dansyl05

Hi Melanie...so glad i'm not on my own panicking bout the time scale!! It seems to take forever. we are at the same stage as you, my sons names were also changed by deed poll but so long as you have the relevant paperwork with the name changes etc it shouldn't cause any hold ups (so we've been told! :? anyways, we put our appl. in Nov 14th and have heard nothing yet, our migration officer said the whole process will take about 4 months from the time of application, so we are waiting to have our med request any time in Jan, heres hoping! I have been trying to convince my hubby to go and have our medicals done in the next week or so, but he's a bit worried, or too sensible and thinks we should wait until asked...there just seems so much to worry about now and i just need to get it over with so we can sell up and move. Good luck, let us know how you get on, where you hoping to go in Australia?

sylvi

Guest jackie1

Hi

I would recommend you begin to get your police checks done now. Mine took 40 days to come back, they last for 12months and only cost £10 per adult.

Good luck

Jackie

Guest Mel & Ed

Hi Sylvi,

We are heading for Perth, somewhere near Joondalup...Where are you heading for??

I did police checks before the visa went in and sent them with it as i thought that was what i should do..I only now know that i was supposed to wait for request..