Tree Surgery, boom or bust in Oz?

Gavo

I have just applied for and been granted a 12 month working holiday visa, and am planning on beggining this at the start of 2010.

I am a qualified tree surgeon hoping to trade the south west of England for that of Oz, and intend to try and find work out there in this field, hopefully with a view to extending my stay there for another year, or perhaps permenantly.

There is so much uncertainty here in Blighty, and having been made redundant from a previous employer when the recession hit I am curious to learn of the effect on the Arborist's business over in Australia.

I have heard different and sometimes conflicting reports over this issue (and the employment issue in general) and it would be nice to know what i am letting myself in for. I have looked around a little, and there seem to be jobs in Melbourne and Sydney and i expect to end up going to both these areas.

I remain hopefull that the economic climate out there remains relatively stable, but i guess, like most places at the moment, no one can really gaurantee anything. I would expect that like here, smaller firms that depend mostly on private sector works may be suffering as people tighten their purse strings, whereas the larger companies that win the tenders for big scale public contracts (parks & gardens etc) are not being affected as much.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated, and it would be very interesting to hear from anyone who runs a firm or lives out there, has been, or is in the same situation as me now, or anyone who is currently working as an Arborist in Southern Austrailia.

Cheers

Gavo

Guest June Pixie

Wrote a long reply then it deleted itself - Aghh!

Hi Gavo - my OH is an arborist and to be honest he has not looked into the job situation too much as yet - We will get the PR visa under another 60 point occupation although a tree surgeon is worth 60 points also at present.