Building / Renovation / Trades - Minefield

Guest local builders

Guest local builders

Hi everyone,

First post here, I'm a local Gold Coast builder ( Aussie ) with many a good pommy / trade mates. Recently, my best pommy mate told me about this site, about the Brits who are looking to land in Oz, come across many problems relating to either building or buying a house, 'tradies' who are looking to chase work only to find that local licences are required over and above what you may bring with you or from what you have been told.

As many of you may or may not know, there are many pitfalls that can start you off on the wrong foot, so to speak and can become nightmares.

If my pommy mates & I can help you out with your building requirements, no problems but the main topic here is to tell you how is really is, ( Not to gloss over and make everything sound wonderful )

I'm happy to give honest advice and basic guidance ( Not legal ) on matters. There no costs attached. Any queries that I answer will be a 'general rule of thumb' approach with a genuine comment as to how things really are at present or what may be required.

Topics may include but not limited to ........

*** For 'tradies' who come out only to find that they need local state licences, etc.

*** Looking to buy a house, what 'local problems' do we need to look out for?

*** Looking for a tradesman on the Coast ( you may prefer an ex Brit ) or anyone else for that matter, etc.

Regards,

JP

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Hi everyone,

First post here, I'm a local Gold Coast builder ( Aussie ) with many a good pommy / trade mates. Recently, my best pommy mate told me about this site, about the Brits who are looking to land in Oz, come across many problems relating to either building or buying a house, 'tradies' who are looking to chase work only to find that local licences are required over and above what you may bring with you or from what you have been told.