Nurse On 457 Visa

UKtoOZ

The hospital I am interested in offer sponsorship on a 457 visa for a year initially. They also say that the contract is almost always extended with a view of PR.

My worry is that after 1 year they will not renew my contract and I will have 28 days to find a new employer. I will be moving with 2 kids so want a bit of security.

I was thinking of applying for a 175 before I leave, as I have enough points. Is this an option? Also would I have to do 2 lots of medical?

Hi Pam

I am a nurse going to Brisbane on 457, nurses are so in demand out there that even if your current hospital couldnt renew sponsorship you will quickly get another, but from what i can gather you should not have any problem keeping your sponsorship. where abouts are you headed.

Lynne

Guest chris_mac
The hospital I am interested in offer sponsorship on a 457 visa for a year initially. They also say that the contract is almost always extended with a view of PR.

My worry is that after 1 year they will not renew my contract and I will have 28 days to find a new employer. I will be moving with 2 kids so want a bit of security.

I was thinking of applying for a 175 before I leave, as I have enough points. Is this an option? Also would I have to do 2 lots of medical?

Hi Pam

There are a number of pathways to PR from a 457 visa.

You can be sponsored by your company for an ENS visa. This can happen straight away if you have your skills assessed or you earn more than AU$165,000 p/a.

Alternately after you have been in Australia for 2 years on a 457 and working for your PR sponsor for one you can apply for PR (That is if they renew your initial contract for another 12 months)

If you are in a regional area then you can be sponsored by your company for a RSMS visa. This can happen straight away as long as you meet the skill level/work experience requirements.