Dental hygienist

kellyjamie

Hi evreyone and anyone, i have just been offered a job as a dental nurse and the chance to train to level nvq3 as a registered dental nurse, i have looked at diac and its on the sol list as dental hygienist (tho only worth 40points)and after looking at the description im fairly sure its the same as dental nurse but can anyone assure me? also it says aqf diploma required would this be equivelent to nvq3?? if they are the same job the higherst qualification here is level 3?? it would be great if someone was able to put me right?

many thanks

kelly x

Hi evreyone and anyone, i have just been offered a job as a dental nurse and the chance to train to level nvq3 as a registered dental nurse, i have looked at diac and its on the sol list as dental hygienist (tho only worth 40points)and after looking at the description im fairly sure its the same as dental nurse but can anyone assure me? also it says aqf diploma required would this be equivelent to nvq3?? if they are the same job the higherst qualification here is level 3?? it would be great if someone was able to put me right?

many thanks

kelly x

#

Hi there

Dental Nurse & Dental Hygienist are two completely different roles. A Dental Hygienist cleans teeth, sometimes under local anaesthetic and also carries out preventative treatment such as fissure sealants. Dental Nurses can not do either of these things. They assist the dentist/therapist or hygienist whilst treating a patient. Dental Nurse or Assistant as they are known as in Australia is not on any "wanted" lists on DIAC. Currenty there is no way around entering Australia as the main applicant as a Dental Assistant. I know because I have been a Dental Nurse for 22 years and got the offer of an excellent job for NSW Health with sponsorship, only to find that there was no way around the visa system to let me in.